Indian and Foreign Terrorist, Militant, and Separatist Groups
v.1.0 January 27, 2002



A post dated November 23, 2001, on:




United Liberation Front of Asom (ULFA)
National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB)
United People's Democratic Solidarity (UPDS)
Kamatapur Liberation Organisation (KLO)
Bodo Liberation Tiger Force (BLTF)
Dima Halim Daogah (DHD)
Karbi National Volunteers (KNV)
Rabha National Security Force (RNSF)
Koch-Rajbongshi Liberation Organisation (KRLO)
Karbi People's Front (KPF)
Tiwa National Revolutionary Force (TNRF)
Bircha Commando Force (BCF)
Bengali Tiger Force (BTF)
Adivasi Security Force (ASF)
All Assam Adivasi Suraksha Samiti (AAASS)
Gorkha Tiger Force (GTF)
Barak Valley Youth Liberation Front (BVYLF)
Muslim United Liberation Tigers of Assam (MULTA)
Muslim United Liberation Front of Assam (MULFA)
Muslim Security Council of Assam (MSCA)
United Liberation Militia of Assam (ULMA)
Islamic Liberation Army of Assam (ILAA)
Muslim Volunteer Force (MVF)
Muslim Liberation Army (MLA)
Muslim Security Force (MSF)
Islamic Sevak Sangh (ISS)
Islamic United Reformation Protest of India (IURPI)
United Muslim Liberation Front of Assam (UMLFA)
Revolutionary Muslim Commandos (RMC)
Muslim Tiger Force (MTF)
People’s United Liberation Front (PULF)
Adam Sena (AS)

Jammu & Kashmir

Hizbul Mujahideen
Harkat-ul-Ansar or Harkat-ul-Jehad-e-Islami
Jaish-e-Mohammad Mujahideen E-Tanzeem
Jammu & Kashmir Liberation Front
Al Badr
Al Barq
Al Jehad
Jammu & Kashir National Liberation Army
People’s League
Muslim Janbaz Force
Kashmir Jehad Force
Al Jehad Force (combines Muslim Janbaz Force and Kashmir Jehad Force)
Al Umar Mujahideen
Islami Jamaat-e-Tulba
Jammu & Kashmir Students Liebration Front
Islamic Students League
Mutahida Jehad Council
Tehrik-e-Nifaz-e-Fiqar Jafaria
Al Mustafa Liberation Fighters
Muslim Mujahideen
Al Mujahid Force
Islami Inquilabi Mahaz


United National Liberation Front (UNLF)
People’s Liberation Army (PLA)
People’s Revolutionary Party of Kangleipak (PREPAK)
The above mentioned three groups now operate from a unified platform, the Manipur People’s Liberation Front (MPLF)
Kangleipak Communist Party (KCP)
Kanglei Yawol Kunna Lup (KYKL)
Manipur Liberation Tiger Army (MLTA)
Iripak Kanba Lup (IKL)
People’s Republican Army (PRA)
Kangleipak Kanba Kanglup (KKK)
Kangleipak Liberation Organisation (KLO)
Revolutionary Joint Committee (RJC)
National Socialist Council of Nagaland -- Isak-Muivah (NSCN-IM)
People’s United Liberation Front (PULF)
North East Minority Front (NEMF)
Islamic National Front (INF)
Islamic Revolutionary Front (IRF)
United Islamic Liberation Army (UILA)
United Islamic Revolutionary Army (UIRA)
Kuki National Front (KNF)
Kuki National Army (KNA)
Kuki Independent Army (KIA)
Kuki Defence Force (KDF)
Kuki International Force (KIF)
Kuki National Volunteers (KNV)
Kuki Liberation Front (KLF)
Kuki Security Force (KSF)
Kuki Revolutionary Front (KRF)
United Kuki Liberation Front (UKLF)
Hmar People’s Convention (HPC)
Hmar Revolutionary Front (HRF)
Zomi Revolutionary Army (ZRA)
Zomi Revolutionary Volunteers (ZRV)
Indigenous People's Revolutionary Alliance(IRPA)
Kom Rem People's Convention (KRPC)
Chin Kuki Revolutionary Front (CKRF)


Hynniewtrep National Liberation Council (HNLC)
Achik National Volunteer Council (ANVC)
People’s Liberation Front of Meghalaya (PLF-M)


National Socialist Council of Nagaland (Isak-Muivah) – NSCN(IM)
National Socialist Council of Nagaland (Khaplang) – NSCN (K)
Naga National Council (Adino) – NNC (Adino)


National Liberation Front of Tripura (NLFT)
All Tripura Tiger Force (ATTF)
Tripura Liberation Organisation Front (TLOF)
United Bengali Liberation Front (UBLF)
Tripura Tribal Volunteer Force (TTVF)
Tripura Armed Tribal Commando Force (TATCF)
Tripura Tribal Democratic Force (TTDF)
Tripura Tribal Youth Force (TTYF)
Tripura Liberation Force (TLF)
Tripura Defence Force (TDF)
All Tripura Volunteer Force (ATVF)
Tribal Commando Force (TCF)
Tripura Tribal Youth Force (TTYF)
All Tripura Bharat Suraksha Force (ATBSF)
Tripura Tribal Action Committee Force (TTACF)
Socialist Democratic Front of Tripura (SDFT)
All Tripura National Force (ATNF)
Tripura Tribal Sengkrak Force (TTSF)
Tiger Commando Force (TCF)
Tripura Mukti Police (TMP)
Tripura Rajya Raksha Bahini (TRRB)
Tripura State Volunteers (TSV)
Tripura National Democratic Tribal Force (TNDTF)
National Militia of Tripura (NMT)
All Tripura Bengali Regiment (ATBR)
Bangla Mukti Sena (BMS)
All Tripura Liberation Organisation (ATLO)
Tripura National Army (TNA)
Tripura State Volunteers (TSV)
Barak National Council of Tripura (BNCT)

Left-wing Extremist groups

People's Guerrilla Arm

Other Extremists Groups
Deendar Anjuman
Students Islamic Movement of India (SIMI)

Pakistan based terrorist groups operating in Jammu &Kashmir

The following list is from

Pakistan and the groups themselves maintain they are freedom fighters and not terrorist. Pakistan at this time has banned certain of these groups under US pressure, many have simply reorganized under a new name.

1. Jammu & Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF)
2. Hizb-ul-Mujahideen (HuM)
3. Lashkar-e-Toiba (LeT)
4. Jaish-e-Mohammad (JeM)
5. Harkat-ul-Jehad-e-Islami (HUJI)
6. Al Badr
7. Harkat-ul Mujahideen (HuM, previously known as Harkat-ul-Ansar)
8. Al Barq
9. Al Faran
10. Al Jihad
11 Al Jihad Force (amalgam of Muslim Janbaz force and Kashmir Jihad Force)
12 Al Mujahid Force
13. Al Mustafa Liberation Fighters
14. Al Umar Mujahideen
15. Ikhwan-ul-Mujahideen
16. Islami Inquilabi Mahaz
17. Islami Jamaat-e-Tulba
18. Islamic Students League
19. Jamait-ul-Mujahideen
20. Jammu & Kashmir National Liberation Army
21. Jammu & Kashmir Students Liberation Front
22. Mahaz-e-Azadi
23. Muslim Mujahideen
24. Tehrik-e-Hurriat-e-Kashmir
25. Tehrik-e-Jihad
26. Tehrik-e-Jihad-e-Islami
27. Tehrik-e-Nifaz-e-Fiqar Jafaria
28. Tehrik-ul-Mujahideen
29. Dukhtaran-e-Millat
30. Lashkar-e-Jabbar (LJ)
31. Muttahida Jehad Council- An umbrella body for coordination among 14 terrorist outfits and based in Pakistan.
32. The All Party Hurriyat Conference (APHC) an ISI engineered alliance of 26 diverse political and socio-religious outfits

Back to Main

All content © 2002 Ravi Rikhye. Reproduction in any form prohibited without express permission.